Why You Should Come to our High School Reunion…

It’s officially been ten years since we graduated from high school. TEN. YEARS.

Which is weird, because on one hand it seems like yesterday, and on the other it feels like a few lifetimes ago.

But alas, the time has come for our 10-year reunion. Perhaps an outdated tradition in this day and age, when we feel very much connected and as though we “keep up” with people just fine via social media. But that’s not really true, is it?

Sure, we can “like” someone’s post about getting a new job or “like” their latest vacation photos.  But, how much can you really gleam from someone’s social media posts? Actually talking to people face to face is so much more rewarding!

So look. I know that many of you have no interest in attending, and likely nothing I can say or do will change your mind, but that won’t stop me from at least trying to make you reconsider. I just can’t help myself.

Here’s a little of what I’ve been hearing:

“I keep in touch with the people I want to keep in touch with.”

“I don’t need an update on their life, I can tell you what they ate yesterday thanks to Facebook.”

 “I’m not paying money to see a bunch of people I haven’t talked to in ten years.”

Sound familiar? Here’s the thing – I’m 100 percent guilty of saying all of these things. In fact, last year when I realized this was coming up, I felt physically ill thinking about planning it. My exact thoughts were, “What the hell were you thinking, Hayley? Why did you have to be so irritatingly involved in high school? You don’t have time for this!”

But I asked you to make me your class president senior year, knowing full well that meant planning this dang thing 10 years later, so here I am.

I kicked and screamed for a bit, daunted by the task at hand. And then I actually started planning. And I started talking to our classmates. Some who have remained my greatest friends over the years. Some of whom, admittedly, I barely knew in high school. Some who I was friends with in elementary school but managed to grow apart from in our later school years. Some I was great friends with in high school, but lost touch with in college. And you know what I realized?

It’s kind of awesome. You guys. We graduated with a seriously great group of people. Successful people. In SO many areas – business, law, medicine, mother/fatherhood, volunteering, farming, teaching, etc. You name it, and we’ve pretty much got it covered. KIND people. People who are willing to step in and help. People who have reached out because they’re excited to see each other after all these years.

Even though I see daily what you guys are doing via my news feed, getting the chance to actually talk to you all has been really fun for me. I even started getting EXCITED about the reunion (who knew?!).

The crazy thing about being ten years out is how much we have all changed in the last ten years. We’ve grown up. We have meaningful lives. We have more than enough to catch up on in one night. (Not to mention lots of dancing and drinking to do.)

So, I officially invite you to join me in taking the chip off your shoulder that’s making you reallllly not want to go, and reconsider.

Don’t you want to see how people have changed? Aren’t you just a little bit curious who has grown up (and who hasn’t?). Plus, there’s always a chance Billy Blackard will light himself on fire. (I’M KIDDING, Billy! Please for the love of everything; do not light yourself on fire!)

I know, some of you are probably still hating on the idea. And honestly, if you just really could not care less and have no desire to attend, I definitely won’t hold that against you. I get it. It’s not for everyone.

But if you are on the fence about going, and have even the slightest bit of interest – I really hope you’ll consider it.

Believe it or not, some of us are actually working really hard to make sure it’s a good time. But the good times will not be had if no one shows up, so I hope to see you there!

ONE more thing – Thank you to everyone for being so awesome during this process. And to those of you have no desire to go, thanks for at least not smearing negativity across the group Facebook page. Seriously.  I can’t even begin to tell you how much I appreciate the fact that everyone has been so supportive of and positive about this event. Every person I’ve ever talked to about planning these things in the past had warned me how terrible it would be and how mean and angry people can be. And seriously? You guys have been amazing. Which just makes me that much more eager to get everyone together! THANK YOU for being so great.

-Hayley

Leave a Reply

