Another Year in the Books!

A new year’s post – because I just had to.

With the New Year upon us, I thought I’d take a moment to reflect on the year gone by and prepare my brain for the year to come.

I’ve always loved the saying, “Do not regret growing older – it is a privilege denied to many.”  I have the privilege of kicking off each year not only with a new year for the world, but a new year of my life, as my husband and I both have January birthdays. Every year we get closer to 30 seems a little less appealing, but honestly, I don’t understand how anyone could ever be sad about their birthday. I mean it, 30 shmirty, 50 shmifty, 80 shmatey. You got to spend another entire year surrounded by people you love who love you back. (At least, that’s my hope for each of you.) Why should we do anything BUT celebrate that? What a gift. Not such a great year? Make a decision to turn it around in the next one. It’s like a do-over in life. Awesome.

As the holidays wrap up, I’m reminded over and over again of the fragility of life. The funny thing about getting older is that the more time goes by, the more loss you see in your life and in the lives of those around you. It’s truly tragic that it sometimes takes these catastrophic events to be reminded just how precious life really is. So, I urge you to take a moment today, on this last day of 2013, to appreciate what you have, just because you can. The people around you, the home you live in, the food on your plate. And make the most of every second of every day without getting bogged down by all the mundane tasks and overwhelming things ahead.

With that said, here are a few things I’m thankful for from 2013:

Loyal and loving friends who spent my birthday with me, and a best friend to share it with! Image

A beautiful trip to Whistler, Canada, with the hubster.  Image

Buying our first home…even though it hasn’t been all warm fuzzies along the way… Image

SO many friends getting married and engaged! Image

Image

Lots of concerts with all my favorite people! Justin Timberlake, Beyonce’, Sara Bareilles, Keith Urban, Jimmy Buffett…ImageImageImage(Apparently this was my concert shirt of choice in 2013.)

ImageImageThis one’s a little blurry, but that’s pretty representative of the crowd at that show.) 

OSU Football! Image

My job – 4-and-a-half years strong! Image

10 years with the love of my life! ImageImage

Vacation to Colorado with my girls! Image

My Pup Image

My awesome family and the relationships I’ve built with my cousins after years of being “the baby.” Growing up is kind of great.  Image

An amazing road trip to Eureka Springs with my “best friend since the summer before seventh grade.”Image

In 2013, we said goodbye to my amazing Grandpa and my family’s long-time dog, Molly. They are both greatly missed and will continue to be remembered.ImageImage

Things I’m looking forward to in 2014:

My GOLDEN birthday! (27 on the 27th!) Get your cards ready, folks, I don’t want to end up like this lady… Image

Welcoming our first niece, miss Anna Francis Money, into the world and sharing a birthday month with her!

Starting a “new job” at a “new company” after my current company splits into two!

A weekend getaway to Arizona with my husband.

A trip to New Orleans with a few of my best friends!

A trip to Kansas City with a few more of my best friends!

Marrying off four of my six bridesmaids and all the celebrations that go along with that!

Celebrating our 3-year wedding anniversary. (Holy smokes, they go by fast.)

And many more exciting adventures that I’m sure are to come.

Wishing you all the happiest of new years – here’s to 2014 being the best year yet!

Friendly reminder – be SAFE tonight! Live your life, but do it wisely. Call a cab or have a DD if you’re out celebrating!

Love to all, and thanks for reading this year! Hopefully I will post a little more frequently in 2014.

Happy New Year,

Hayley

Leave a Reply

